How we use Cookies

Dynamos in electrifying form to clinch cup

Hockley Heath Dynamos 3 Lyndon 3 AET

Hockley Heath Dynamos 3 Lyndon 3 AET

Hockley Heath won 4-3 on penalties

HOCKLEY Heath Dynamos lifted the Len Ward Trophy on Sunday after a thrilling final against Lyndon that went to extra time and penalties.

Although the Dynamos were clear favourites, it was Josh Hawthorne who opened the scoring for Lyndon on 25 minutes with Dave Sheldon adding another 15 minutes later to take them into half time with a two goal lead.

However, Dynamos were on the scoresheet in under a minute of the restart, courtesy of Luke Edwards who followed up with a second to level the score with 20 minutes left.

Five minutes later, Lyndon were back on top with Daniel Tomkins finding the net to take the score to 3-2 but it was not until ten seconds before the final whistle that Tom Rippington grabbed an equaliser to take the game into extra time.

Neither side could break the deadlock in the next half hour and Lyndon started badly by missing their first penalty in the resulting shoot out.

Hockley went on to score four of their five penalties but another miss from Lyndon left the final score at 4-3, Jon Grandfield taking the final shot to seal the victory.

So the cup went back to Hockley Heath after the first of two meetings between these two sides who will play it all out again next week at Damson Lane, this time for the Chris Moore cup.


Premier League News


Cathrina Hulse
Multimedia Journalist
Annette Belcher
Multimedia Journalist
Full newsroom contact details
Tell us what's happening in your area.